h1

Personal Preference: Drama Review

June 27, 2010

Title(s): 개인의 취향  / Kaeinui Chwihyang / Personal Taste
Genre: Romance, Comedy
Episodes: 16
Broadcast Network: MBC
Aired: Mar. 31, 2010 – May 20, 2010
Cast: Son Yeh Jin, Lee Min Ho, Kim Ji Suk, Wang Ji Hye

Description (from Javabeans): Jeon Jin Ho (Lee Min Ho) is a straight guy who pretends to be gay in order to become Park Kae In’s (Son Yeh Jin) roommate. His hobbies include organization and ironing, and he’s known for his stoic poker face. He’s a stickler for cleanliness, but he also has a talent for figuring out a woman’s feelings. Kae In is very trusting even though she has a habit of being betrayed. However that doesn’t stop her from giving people the benefit of doubt and Jin Ho is no different. How will Kae In react when she finds out that her gay roommate is not actually gay at all and that he has fallen for her? – Dramawiki

TRAILER:


I was curious about Personal Preference since I read the description of it last month, but I did not start watching it until the beginning of June. Another reason I wanted to watch this is because… well, you guessed it, Lee Min Ho.

The two leads, Son Ye Jin who played Kae In and Lee Min Ho who played Jin Ho, had amazing performances. Son Ye Jin truly captured Kae In’s personality. I felt Kae In’s kind and good-hearted nature towards her friends, but sometimes her thoughtlessness and inattentiveness made me so frustrated. I found Lee Min Ho’s character a bit stiff in the beginning, but as the drama progressed he started to become more open with Kae In. A whole different side of him unwrapped from his default stoic poker face. He begins to joke around and drop his formal speech, which was funny because it made Kae In mad at times. The best thing about these two was their chemistry. Every time Kae In and Jin Ho made the smallest physical contact, I could just feel the chemistry between the two. I absolutely loved it! Seriously, this couple just made my heart leap with joy!

Even though the series focused on Kae In and Jin Ho’s relationship, how could you not notice other superb performances from the amazing cast? I adored Director Choi (Ryu Seoung Ryong). I loved when he would pat his face around Jin Ho in embarrassment or have one of his awkward moments for telling a bad joke, but he truly made me feel sympathetic towards him and it shattered my heart. Chang Ryul (Kim Ji Suk), in the beginning, was an immature, egoistic, foolish jerk-face (you get the point) punk, but as the drama progresses you gradually see him lose that big head of his and become more mature and considerate. Somehow he manages to redeem himself and he was removed from my dislike list. But, In Hee (Wang Ji Hye) couldn’t save herself; In Hee was the character everyone loved to hate. Ji Hye portrayed her character perfectly seeing as In Hee will still remain on my dislike list.

I found the plot was too slow at the beginning and I admit, I lost interested in the first 30 minutes (I tend to do that with a massive amounts of dramas!) and decided to give Personal Preference another try a couple days later. As I started watching, I was engrossed into the story line until the last couple of episodes. Those last few episodes appeared to become rushed, choppy, and draggy. One of the major causes was that Kae In’s problem was addressed near the end; it should have been introduced earlier. Kae In’s father’s arrival was also a late introduction. If these factors were presented earlier in the drama, it would have provided a profound plot. Once Kae In’s problem appeared, there were many misunderstandings that should have not been there for various reasons. Also, some issues were left loosely tied together such as Jin Ho and Chang Ryul’s family situation and Won Ho, Kae In’s employee, from episode 1 – 2 (Well, actually they never resolved the debt problem did they? Where did he even go? Or maybe I just wasn’t paying attention… xD).

Overall: Personal Preference was an enjoyable and entertaining watch. A major plus is the great casting for this drama. Everyone delivered something to the table and made the story more pleasant. It is definitely worth a watch for Lee Min Ho fans, his acting has been newly polished as he plays a much mature role compared to his Boys Over Flower role, Gu Joon Pyo. The plot is engaging, but it was quite predictable. If you are like me you will probably lose interest as Personal Preference chugs along, but I somehow held out till the end. There were parts that made me laugh, cringe in irritation, and broke my heart, but in the end, everything fell into place and it was a happy ending… And yet I was left feeling unsatisfied and discontent.

RATING:

What do these rating mean?! Find out here.

  • Are you curious as to where you can watch this at? Check out AskDrama, DramaFever, DramaCrazy, and Mysoju. Type in Personal Preference in the search engine of any of the links I provided (except for MySoju you’ll have to scroll and find the title), if that does not work try Personal Taste.

What did you think of this drama?

Loved it? Liked it? Loathed it?

7 comments

  1. I agree and am surprised you were able to stick it out for this one. The acting was superb. Lee Min Ho did a nice turn around for this part. I did not like the noticeable age difference between the main characters though. I think they could have found someone closer in age. The ending was truly unsatisfying. But I have only seen one drama so far where the ending lived up to the whole drama! Keep it up Chukuma!! I await the next one and cannot wait to tell you about the one I just finished!


    • Thank you for the support!🙂 I notice a lot of people didn’t like the age difference between Son Ye Jin and Lee Min Ho. The two leads are only five years apart, but that wasn’t much of a problem for me. You must tell me which drama, dramamama!


  2. The premise for this slightly reminds me of Three’s Company, if you’ve ever seen that show. It sounds interesting, to say the least, and totally hilarious.


  3. Nice review.
    I also really enjoyed watching personal preference. I waited until all the episodes were done subbing. Even after that I had a hard time engaging myself in the drama. I couldn’t finish the first episode. Several days ago I finally decided to stick it out, and I’m glad I did.

    I love Son Yejin, and she made the drama worthwhile. Her acting was amazing. Lee Minho did an okay job, but he didn’t cross my eyes as ‘superb’ like Son Yejin. Then again, they are on different levels of acting experience.

    So overall, it was okay – a light drama that made me happy at the end.

    Not the best, but okay enough🙂


  4. Oh yeah, I just finished prosecutor princess. Another drama that took me a couple of tries on the first ep to keep going. But once I was done with the first ep, there was nothing stopping me.

    The main leads satisfied me more than Son Yejin and Lee Minho.

    So overall I prefer Prosecutor Princess😀


    • Oh! I want to watch Prosecutor Princess! So seeing that you got engulfed into the drama, I will give it a try after I get back from my trip!😀

      I really did enjoy So Ye Jin’s acting as well. I am going to watch other things she performed in!


  5. I actually agree with everything you have said, even the fact that it left me kinda discontent.
    Although, for some reason, I can’t forget about this drama.. maybe it’s because of the catchy soundtrack? I can only assume so.

    Anyway, loved the review. I would have given the show a 4 out of 5 though.🙂



Leave a Reply

