h1

Rurouni Kenshin Live Action Movie!

July 8, 2010


Man, was I shocked to see this when I was surfing the web! Nobuhiko Watsuki’s Rurouni Kenshin is making a come back as a live action movie.

There was plenty of rumors that Miura Haruma, Oguri Shin, and Ikuta Toma were playing the lead, but Sato Takeru (Bloody Monday, Kamen Rider Den-O) is  confirmed as the legendary assassin, Kenshin Hiruma. There was plans for a film adaption a couple of years back but due to the technology, they could not pursue the movie plans. There were also offers from Hollywood to adapt the film but Watsuki declined.

I find this completely ironic because Spoofnick and I were reminiscing about the good ol’ days last Saturday, you know, when Cartoon Network use to show Rurouni Kenshin, Yu Yu Hakusho, Dragon Ball Z, Pokémon, and many 90’s and early 2000’s animes. We were even jamming out to T.M.Revolution’s (TMR, Takanori Nishikawa) Heart of the Sword.

I’ve been a fan of Sato Takeru since ROOKIES and maybe this won’t be one of those disappointing manga/anime adaptions. I am hoping this will be great, or at least decent a movie. I can only hope for now. There’s no other cast members confirmed, but I can see Hayami Mokomichi playing Sanosuke Sagara!

And for old time’s sake….. hit it TMR.

Source: Tokyohive and JpopFun!

One comment

  1. YAY!!! I love Rurouni Kenshin and Takeru Sato. Hopefully this won’t end up a disappointment like so many other adaptions.

    I think Abe Hiroshi would be perfect for Saitou😉



Leave a Reply

