h1

Artist Discovery: NIA (니아)

August 4, 2010

NIA – Every Night

Nowadays, I’m starting to get tired of all these K-pop groups, but I still love  listening to Big Bang (but I consider them more hip-hop than pop),  SHINee2NE1, with Wonder Girls on the side, and I do love some Super Junior from time to time. I was inspired to make this new segment called Artist Discovery because I wish to share a wide variety of talented and underrated artists, bands, and groups from both Japan and Korea. So if you’re looking for new artist to add to your music list, this may help. Without further ado, I present to you Korean rock girl’s band, NIA.

NIA is a four member modern rock girl’s band (meaning they play their own instruments) formed by hip-hop producer and singer MC Han Sai. They are currently signed under the record label, Run to Asia Enterin. The band released their first single, “My Everything”, on April 23 of last year and gained much attention in the indie scene. Their second single, “Goodbye” was released in December 2, 2009. Their most recent single, “Remember the Forest”, is their third single and was released July 28, 2010.

I don’t see a lot of Korean bands, the only bands I know of is C.N.Blue, F.T Island, and TRAX, but it’s nice to see a female rock band. Their sound is lively, spunky, and fresh. Jeon So Yeon (vocals) has such an enriching and beautiful voice, it’s just amazes me. I’m falling in love with this band and patiently awaiting a mini-album or album. “Every Night“, the track in this post, is becoming a favorite of mine and I am diggin’ their new single! You should certainly check out these ladies!

 

Members

Name: 써지 / Sseo Ji
Position: Leader and Drummer
Education: Ajoo University, English Language and Literature, Media (absence)

 

.

Name: 전소연 / Jeon So Yeon
Position: Vocals

 

.
.
.

.Name: 최영신 / Choi Yeong Shin
Position: Bass
Education: Dong Ah Broadcasting College, Video, Music and arts School

 

 

.

Name: 황보나래 / Hwang Bo Nare
Position: Guitar

.

.

.

 

Singles —

  1. [2009.04.23] My Everything
  2. [2009.12.02] Goodbye
  3. [2010.07.28] Remember the Forest

Music Videos

MEMBER INFO SOURCE: Luminosity

3 comments

  1. Love the song! I will definitely have to check more out from them. It is rare to see girl groups out there, especially actual bands.


    • Glad to hear you’re liking this band. I agree bands are rare! NIA is just awesome and it’s nice that their official sites like Facebook are in English. Also, some of their videos are in English as well. Haven’t searched through them all yet.

      I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and so glad I found it! Also, would you like to exchange links?


      • Thanks! I am glad you enjoy the blog. Now that I know about yours, I will definitely follow ^_^

        I have added a link to your blog to my site’s blog roll.



Leave a Reply

