h1

First Impression: BOSS

September 4, 2010

The show was able to received plenty of awards including Television Drama Awards and the Tokyo Drama Awards, yet I did not hear a wink about BOSS. I know at the time this was released I wasn’t into watching dramas, I was on one of my long breaks, a whole year that time around. I stumbled across a review of BOSS on a site and it was a good one, so I slapped it on my watch list. I love crime/detective series, though I haven’t watched many Japanese ones, I will admit. I’ve only seen four: Galileo, Mr. Brain, Koshonin and Tantei Gakuen Q.

| Information |

Superfly – Alright!!

Begin . . .

Osawa Eriko (Amami Yuki) is a beautiful career woman who has just returned from training in the U.S., she is appointed the boss of a new division created to fight against the increase of atrocious crimes, the Secret Criminal Countermeasures Unit. Her longtime friend Nodate Shinjiro (Takenouchi Yutaka) placed her in the new division with elites, knowing she’d do well. Unfortunately, their superiors decided NOT to assemble elites, but workers who seems to be the outcasts and rejects of their departments, which leaves Eriko with these guys:

Her team consist of (character’s picture as listed from left to right) the soft spoken and well mannered, Katagiri Takuma (Tamayama Tetsuji) from the Detection Research Lab, the lazy Kimoto Mami (Toda Erika) from the Scientific Crime Detention Research Lab, Hanagata Ippei (Mizobata Junpei), who is clumsy and very devoted, has come from a koban (交番; or ‘police box’, which is a neighborhood police station).  Narahashi Reiko (Kichise Michiko) is the beautiful forensic examiner, she has already been working in Division 1. Iwai Zenji (Kendo Kobayashi) seems to be a case of violence but has a soft spot for good-looking men, he is from the Organized Crime Division. Yamamura Keisuke (Nukumizu Youichi) is from Environmental Health and Safety. He loves nature and is careless, always forgetting his to strap his messenger bag. 

I like the main character, Osawa Eriko. She’s a strong and independent woman in a male dominated system. All of the other bosses in Division 1 are, unsurprisingly, male and look down on Eriko, but she proves to them that she has just as much skills as any of them. She holds confident in what she does, which is something I lack at times, and I admire that trait about her.  It will be great watching her in this drama because I love the “strong woman” persona in shows; it’s entertaining to watch them interact with characters that think they are weak and insecure.

 

Eriko's team aside from Shinjiro

There is a wide variety of characters on the team, that’s always a major plus in my books. It will be interesting to see how they all cooperate with one another in further episodes. Not to mention, their departments sent them because they’re NOT elites, which really made me question their true abilities since the team worked well together to solve the seemly impossible case on episode 1. It will be nice getting to know more about the characters. Also, it’s fun picking out favorites, though I always end up like the whole cast if they are lovable, of course.  So far, I’d have to pick Eriko, Mami, Keisuke and Nodate. Iwai has made it after I watched episode 2!

As I watch crime/detective Japanese dramas, I find that the screen writers make some interesting and creative scenarios. That has always been something that draws me into watching more of the crime shows, I always wonder how the murder happens and what other clever murder cases the writer creates. It buffles me how the murder commit the crime and once I find out how they did it, I’m always shouting, “Why didn’t I think of that!?!”.  The first episode focused on a murder killing his victims by using explosives. If you watch how the murder unfolds itself and how Eriko solves the case, it’s clever.

Hit, miss, or somewhere in between: Whenever I watch crime/detective dramas, I can never fully engage myself into, they’re not my cup of tea. I’ve lost interest in Koshonin and Tantei Gakuen Q, but BOSS is a hit for me and I shall continue watching this show. I’m already on episode 2, and I’m loving it so far. BOSS has intriguing characters and a storyline that I’m interested in, especially since the first episode left me wondering why Eriko was sent to the United States. I also want to know more about the other characters and why their department has decided to send them to the new division.

I recommend this to those who watch crime or detective series, also for Amami Yuki fans as well. This drama has been hardsubbed by TimeLesSub. They’re subs are amazing. The font is wonderful and they also provide cultural notes and  translate signs and paperwork even if they only appear for a split second.

Leave a Reply

