h1

The Short Reviews

July 3, 2011

This post focuses on ten short reviews of Japanese dramas that I have watched including the popular Hana Yori Dango and 1 Litre of Tears. I had put this particular piece on its own page, but I feel that it has been in the back burner. I mean, I’ve even forgotten about it until I happened to find it. So, here it is! These set of reviews are not as profound as my reviews of other dramas, however, I have rated them. 1 being the lowest score and 5 being the highest which means utterly awesomeness! Be aware that these were written when I first started my blog and I tried my best to remember the drama. I also did add a few more details to the ones that didn’t have so much detail! So… I guess you can say this is kind of my recycled one year gift for all my readers! Haha!

1 Litre of Tears / 1リットルの涙: This is definitely a heartbreaking drama. Once I finished watching this I started seeing life in a whole different perspective. I loved the cast and the soundtrack. Just about everything was spot on for me, though I wish Aya’s romantic interest was a bit more focused on.  I highly recommend this drama, this is a tearjerker so bring out the tissues! 4.5/5

Gokusen / ごくせん: A drama filled with laughter, heartfelt moments, and plenty of action. I enjoyed Yukie Nakama’s portrayal of Yankumi, she pulled her off nicely! Sometimes the drama was over the top, other than that, it was an amusing watch. 3.5/5

`
`
Hanazakari no Kimitachi e (Hana Kimi) / 花ざかりの君たちへ: I actually didn’t finish the last episode, but I still consider myself finished. I lost interest in this series a couple of times and picked back up. Aside from that, there were plenty of laugh out loud moments. There were a few unrealistic and random scenes that made me go, “Huh!?” 3.5/5

.

Hana Yori Dango / 花より男子 : The cast is an entertaining bunch and I just adore the heroine, Makino Tsukasa (Inoue Mao). I love this drama even though there are plenty of clichés and the characters may look unappealing at first, but they grew on me. 4/5

`

Hana Yori Dango 2 / 花より男子2: The drama picks up where it left off. More emotional than the first, sometimes a bit too over-dramatic, but I still loved it. The songs used in this drama are fantastic and catchy! (Love So Sweet – Arashi, Flavor of Life – Utada Hikaru). 4/5

`

Jotei / 女帝: My friend recommended Jotei and I watched it at her house a years ago. The drama had the potential of being a great with its splendid synopsis, however it flattered with the one dimensional characters and the overall take on the show. Kato Rosa’s acting was weak and Matsuda Shota was reduced to minor lead, which was disappointing. At times, it was overdramatic and Kato Rosa’s character could have been given greater depth. She just seem… too simple and monotone.  2/5

`

Koshonin / 交渉人: My first drama. I left it and completed a couple months later. I enjoyed the suspense and the series interest me. I admire Usagi Reiko’s (Yonekura Ryoko) headstrong attitude in a male dominated environment. I enjoyed the acting, but I did not like all the males being so prejudice and aggressive against Usagi. Shirota Yuu’s character was dark and mysterious, he played him well. 3/5

Last Friends / ラスト・フレンズ: The plot  grasped me, it was fast-paced and it touched on issues that you don’t see much in dramas. The cast was superb and their acting was great! Sometimes Nishikido Ryo’s acting did bother me. As the drama was reaching its closure, several issues started getting repetitive. 3/5

`

Tantei Gakuen Q / 探偵学園Q: I found the drama entertaining and a good watch for a detective series! The show was funny throughout its run, however it was repetitive and I did begin to lose interest after a while.  3/5

`

.’.

.

Zettai Kareshi / 絶対彼氏: Enjoyable plot and ending, I cried. The acting wasn’t the best. The episodes were a bore but as the plot progress I got engrossed in the series.  The special effects were… terrible. I know that Mokomichi was playing a robot, but it would’ve been nice to see more of a human-like personality.  2.5/5


Leave a Reply

